South Africa wins toss, elects to bat

SHARJAH, United Arab Emirates (AP) South Africa captain AB de Villiers won his fourth toss of the series and elected to bat against Pakistan in the fifth and final one-day international on Monday.

The Proteas have already wrapped up the series with a 3-1 lead after defeating Pakistan by 28 runs at Abu Dhabi last Friday.

South Africa made three changes in its bowling lineup, resting frontline fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel along with the leading wicket-taker of the series Imran Tahir (9 wickets).

Vernon Philander and leftarm spinner Robin Peterson get their first match of the series, while Wayne Parnell also comes in the side after a break of two matches.

Pakistan made only one change, bringing in middle-order batsman Umar Amin in place of Asad Shafiq.



South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmad Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

© Copyright 2015, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 05 Aug 2015 23:06:39 Processing Time: 479ms