Netball: New Zealand name squad to compete in World Netball Series

Irene van Dyk. Photo / Getty Images
Irene van Dyk. Photo / Getty Images

Netball New Zealand has today confirmed the 12 players and management team that will represent the NZ FastNet Ferns at the World Netball Series at the Echo Arena Liverpool from November 25-27.

The selectors have opted for a blend of experience with some relative youngsters called into the squad which will be led by captain Irene van Dyk.

FastNet has been a part of the international Netball calendar since 2009, with the NZ FastNet Ferns winning the World Netball Series Trophy in both 2009 and 2010.

NZ FastNet and Silver Ferns' coach Waimarama Taumaunu said she was looking forward to leading the side to defend their title.

"This is a great opportunity to represent New Zealand in this version of the game and for the younger and less experienced players in this group this is another chance to push for higher honours,'' said Taumaunu.

FastNet is a shortened version of the game which features rolling substitutions, two-point goals from shooting from outside the goal circle, double-point power play and six-minute quarters.

FastNet Ferns Team:

Irene van Dyk (Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic) Captain, Kayla Cullen (Northern Mystics), Shannon Francois (Southern Steel), Katrina Grant (Central Pulse), Cathrine Latu (Northern Mystics), Camilla Lees (Central Pulse), Liana Leota (former Southern Steel), Anna Scarlett (Northern Mystics), Anna Thompson (Canterbury Tactix), Sulu Tone-Fitzpatrick (Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic), Jess Tuki (Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic), Maria Tutaia (Northern Mystics).


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 19 Jan 2017 06:07:05 Processing Time: 460ms