Cricket: Bangladesh announce ODI squad for NZ tour

Bangladesh have dropped opener Shahriar Nafees to accommodate Junaid Siddiqui in a 15-man one-day cricket squad to tour New Zealand from next month.

Bangladesh will play three one-day internationals and two tests during the December-January tour.

Left-hand batsman Siddiqui was named "man of the match" after a Twenty20 World Cup match against Pakistan in South Africa in September.

Spinner Mahmudullah was also dropped and replaced by pace bowler Nazmul Hossain, recalled after a long absence.

The test squad will be announced later, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) said.

New Zealand and Bangladesh are also discussing the possibility of a Twenty20 charity match to raise funds for cyclone survivors.

The BCB said the match should go ahead at Seddon Park in Hamilton on December 23.

One-day squad: Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe Mortaza, Javed Omar, Tushar Imran, Abdur Razzak, Saqibul Hasan, Syed Rasel, Aftab Ahmed, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain, Junaid Siddiqui, Farhad Reza, Mehrab Hossain junior, Tamim Iqbal, Nazmul Hossain.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 20 Feb 2017 16:08:27 Processing Time: 573ms