All Blacks: Accolades for Carter, Hansen and team

Carter was named the IRB Player of the Year. Photo / AP
Carter was named the IRB Player of the Year. Photo / AP

They finished the year on a disappointing note, but Dan Carter, Steve Hansen and the All Blacks scooped the big International Rugby Board prizes for 2012.

All Blacks first five-eighths Carter was named the IRB Player of the Year - the second time he has won the award.

The 30-year-old first received the honour in 2005 and becomes the only player other than his captain Richie McCaw to have received the award more than once.

Carter edged out McCaw, England No10 Owen Farrell and France first-five Frederic Michalak for the award, despite struggling with injuries this year.

A case could easily have been made for McCaw to receive the award for the fourth time, but Carter produced one of his best performances of the season in the All Blacks' big victory over Scotland at Murrayfield.

However, he was far less prominent in a disappointing defeat against England at Twickenham.

The accolade completed a hat-trick of awards for New Zealand, as the All Blacks were named IRB Team of the Year for the sixth time and Steve Hansen the IRB Coach of the Year.

Last month New Zealand celebrated their third anniversary as the No1 team in the IRB world rankings, playing an up-tempo brand of rugby that was largely successful.

After an eight-year apprenticeship as Graham Henry's assistant, Hansen stepped up to the role of head coach and has arguably taken the All Blacks on to greater heights.

Under his command New Zealand were unbeaten in the calendar year until a 38-21 loss to England at Twickenham on Sunday, a result which brought to an end their 20-match unbeaten run.

In this time the All Blacks claimed the Bledisloe Cup for the 10th consecutive year on their way to the inaugural Rugby Championship title.

At the draw for the 2015 World Cup in London IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset presented McCaw with the Team Award and the Players' Award on Carter's behalf, while IRB vice-chairman Oregan Hoskins presented Hansen with the Coach Award.

The IRB Player of the Year award is selected by an independent panel of judges, comprising former internationals Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphael Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustin Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga, Paul Wallace and convenor John Eales, who have more than 500 test caps between them.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 25 May 2017 01:57:51 Processing Time: 462ms