Seven nominations for the Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust have been received with a public election to take place on November 19.

In 2013 six nominations were received for the six trustee positions meaning a public election process was not required.

The trust said in a statement that as of September 12 nominations had been received from Jo-Anne La Grouw, Jon Olphert, Mike Keefe, Peter Bentley, Sandra Kai Fong, Stewart Edward and Waitsu Wu.

Trust manager Tony Gill said the trust was pleased with the interest in this year's elections from the Rotorua community.

"The trust has an impact on just about every person in Rotorua so it's essential that our board has a diverse mix of skilled people who reflect our community."

"We want to attract applicants from a range of different backgrounds, ethnicities and ages, who are passionate about Rotorua, and have the skills to make a difference," said Mr Gill.

"The trust exists to contribute towards a more vibrant Rotorua community, and one of the key roles of trustees is to effectively and responsibly oversee the growth of the trust's assets in order to deliver on this core objective."

Mr Gill said the trust's capital was one of the largest of any charitable trust in New Zealand.

"It is the role of the six trustees to act both as guardians and enablers - protecting the fund and ensuring grants are directed to groups that have a positive impact on the community," he said.

Nominations can be made up until noon on Friday September 23.

Application forms can be downloaded from the trust website or can be collected from the trust office during normal business hours at 1358 Eruera Street, Rotorua.

For more information, contact the trust on 07 347 6239 or the electoral office on 0800 922 822.