Te Waka Huia wins Te Matatini 2013

By Greg Taipari

Te Waka Huia have claimed their fifth Te Matatini Kapa Haka Festival title.

The Auckland based team equalled Waihirere's record for most titles won by a group.

The winners were announced in the sweltering heat at the Rotorua International Stadium today.

Waka Huia last won the title in Tauranga in 2009 and had to overcome a spirited top nine teams' finals which included Te Arawa group and 2012 defending champions Te Mataarae i Orehu.

Although the Rotorua group managed to win top male leader for Wetini Mitai-Ngatai as well as best haka in the aggregate round the group didn't make the top five with Te Whanau a Apanui second overall and Tu Te Manawa Maurea, Te Iti Kahurangi and Whangara Mai Tawhiti third equal overall.

About 15,000 spectators attended the fourth and final day with temperatures soaring to 25C.


The next festival will be held in two years time in Christchurch.

Aggregate Awards:

Overall winner;

1st Te Whaka Huia

2nd Te Whanau-a-Apanui

3rd Tu Te Manawa Maurea, Te Iti Kahurangi and Whangara Mai Tawhiti

Kaitataki tane (male leader);

Wetini Mitai-Ngatai (Te Mataarae i Orehu)

Kaitataki wahine (female leader);

Tiare Kata Teinakore (Te Iti Kahurangi)


Te Iti Kahurangi


Te Iti Kahurangi


Te Iti Kahurangi


Opotiki Mai Tawhiti


Te Mataarae i Orehu


Te Whanau-a-Apanui


- Rotorua Daily Post

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 01 May 2017 11:13:27 Processing Time: 698ms