Bay of Plenty Sports Awards finalists

Outstanding performances by Bay of Plenty sportsmen and women on the world stage in cluding the Olympic Games have been reflected in the finalists selected for the Waiariki Institute of Technology 2012 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards.

The awards, organised each year by Sport Bay of Plenty, salute out standing achievement by Bay of Plenty sportsmen and women in sport at home and abroad over the past 12 months.

All category winners and the Supreme Award recipient are widely regarded as the ultimate accolade for sporting excellence in the region.

The six-strong judging panel sorted through almost 130 nominations for the Waiariki Institute of Technology 2012 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards, each category was hotly debated at the day-long judging session ahead of the gala awards evening to be held at Rotorua Energy Events Centre, Rotorua on Friday November 16.

"The calibre of nominations and the variety of sports never fails to amaze, and it is fantastic what Bay of Plenty athletes, coaches, officials and administrators are achieving on the world stage. I certainly don't envy the judges who are charged with making the tough decisions and determining who the winners are'' said Sport Bay of Plenty chief executive officer Wayne Werder.

Finalists with achievements at the 2012 London Olympic Games include; JP Tobin (Sailing), Brent Newdick (Athletics), Jason Saunders (Sailing), Lisa Carrington (Canoe/Kayak), Gemma Flynn (Hockey), Luuka Jones (Canoe/Kayak), Mike Dawson (Canoe/Kayak), Peter Burling (Sailing), Sam Bewley (Cycling), Sarah Walker (BMX), Julia Edward (Rowing), Mahe Drysdale (Rowing), Kelly Hudson (Hockey) and Samantha Charlton (Hockey).

Also presented on the night are the Bay of Plenty Secondary School Sports Awards. These awards recognise sports sanctioned by the New Zealand Secondary School Sports Association and include the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Secondary School Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards, the Office Products Depot Boys Team of the Year, the Rotorua Trust Girls Team of the Year, the Aurecon Best Student Contribution to Sport, the CodeBlue Coach of the Year and the BOP Principals Association Secondary School Service to Sport award.

"There is an excellent array of sporting talent in our region and Waiariki Institute of Technology is delighted be associated with these awards as they celebrate excellence and achievement in sport,'' said Professor Margaret Noble, chief executive of Waiariki Institute of Technology.

"Sport brings many people together for a common purpose and this is a great opportunity to recognise the achievements of our very best athletes as well as the important coaches, administrators, families and friends who have supported them along the way.''

Tickets for the Waiariki Institute of Technology 2012 Bay of Plenty Sports Awards are available by contacting Valda

Money at Sport Bay of Plenty on (07) 578 0016 or email

Complete finalist list:


EastPack International Athlete of the year

Joseph Schmidt Rugby

JP Tobin Sailing

Brent Newdick Athletics

Benji Marshall Rugby League

Mahe Drysdale Rowing

Bayleys Real Estate Bay of Plenty Sportsman of the Year

Sam Bewley Cycling

Peter Burling Sailing

Mike Dawson Canoe Slalom/Extreme Kayaking

Sam Sutton Extreme Kayaking

Jason Saunders Sailing

Kane Williamson Cricket

BNZ Bay of Plenty Sportswoman of the Year

Lisa Carrington Kayaking

Sarah Walker BMX

Luuka Jones Canoe Slalom

Samantha Charlton Hockey

Gemma Flynn Hockey

Julia Edward Rowing

BayTrust Coach of the Year

Noeline Taurua Netball

Matt Cuthbert Dragon Boat

Gordon Tietjens Rugby

Todd Blyth Athletics

Bay SportsMed Open Team of the Year

Ben and Sam O'Dea _ Beach Volleyball Team

Bayleys Otumoetai Premier Women's Hockey Team

Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic Netball Team

Waihi Beach Lifeguard Service Under 19 Boat Team

Waikato Bay of Plenty Chiefs Rugby Team

APR Consultants Junior Sportsman of the Year

Marshall Gibson Wrestling

Trent Rippey Sailing

Sam Cane Rugby

Peter Lee Golf

Joseph Millar Athletics

Eves Realty Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Monique Dekkers Judo

Karina Radley Kayaking

Natalie Peat Surf Life Saving

MoreFM Official of the Year

Kay Dawson Canoe Slalom

Glen Jackson Rugby

Sarah Garnett Hockey

Kelly Hudson Hockey

Sport New Zealand Club of the Year

Te Puke Sports & Recreation Club Inc

Mount Maunganui Lifeguard Service Inc

Paroa Sports Rugby Club

Devoy Squash & Fitness Centre

Canon Open Service to Sport revealed on the night


Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Secondary School Sportsman of the Year

Nigel McDowell Cross Country Mountain Biking John Paul College

Ben Grindrod Squash Tauranga Boys' College

Cole O'Connor-Stratton Kayaking Tauranga Boys' College

Joshua Walters Outrigger Trident High School

Ashley Roozendaal Outrigger/Surf Life Saving Trident High School

Daniel Kayes Water Polo/Surf Life Saving/Rugby Mount Maunganui College

Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Secondary School Sportswoman of the Year

Alice Bain Volleyball Tauranga Girls' College

Amy Robinson Hockey/Athletics/Cross Country/ Volleyball Tauranga Girls' College

Amber Johnston Mountain Biking Rotorua Girls' High School

Beniece Douch Volleyball Bethlehem College

Samantha Sinclair Netball John Paul College

Natalie Hill Rowing John Paul College

CodeBlue Secondary School Coach of the Year

Dean Papuni Volleyball Tauranga Girls' College

Michelle Pollard Running Tauranga Girls' College

Damien Galvan Squash/Surfing Tauranga Boys' College

Te Ahuru Waititi Netball Trident High School

Paul Morrison Volleyball Western Heights High School

Bay Office Products Depot Secondary School Boys Team of the Year

Tauranga Boys' College Squash Team

Tauranga Boys' College Surfing Team

Tauranga Boys' College Rowing Team (Daniel Bridgwater and Jordan Parry)

Rotorua Boys High School Touch Team

Western Heights High School Boys' Volleyball Team

Rotorua Trust Secondary School Girls Team of the Year

Tauranga Girls' College Kayaking Team

Tauranga Girls' College Senior Underwater Hockey Team

Tauranga Girls' College Running Team

Tauranga Girls' College Senior A Volleyball Team

Trident High School Netball Team

Aurecon Student Contribution to Sport

Michelle Prendiville Hockey/Squash/Volley ball/Athletics Tauranga Girls' College

Ryan Hathaway Rugby Reporoa College

Amon Rimene Rugby/Touch Mount Maunganui College

Wade Smith Waterpolo, Rugby, Football John Paul College

Alice McFall Netball, Triathlon Aquinas College

Hori Richmond Volleyball Kawerau College

Bay of Plenty Principals Association Secondary School Service to Sport Revealed on the night


- Rotorua Daily Post

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 23 Feb 2017 04:29:51 Processing Time: 944ms