NZ rugby heroes honoured

All Black great Grant Fox will be inducted in the IRB Hall of Fame.
All Black great Grant Fox will be inducted in the IRB Hall of Fame.

New Zealand Rugby's annual reunion dinner will have added meaning tonight as some of the sport's biggest names are inducted to the revamped IRB Hall of Fame.

The IRB's version has merged with the International Rugby Hall of Fame to create one definitive place of record and 37 international names, including 11 Kiwis, will be added to the hall before next year's World Cup.

"Over the next year and a half we will be inducting some of the greats of our game into the IRB Hall of Fame at events around the globe, culminating at Rugby World Cup 2015," IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset said.

Ten former All Blacks and long-time Herald rugby scribe the late Sir Terry McLean will be inducted to the revamped hall in Auckland tonight. The 10 are Grant Fox, Graham Mourie, Sir Colin Meads, George Nepia, Sean Fitzpatrick, Don Clarke, Michael Jones, Ian Kirkpatrick, Sir John Kirwan and Sir Fred Allen.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 23 May 2017 18:24:33 Processing Time: 347ms