Isaac Davison is a NZ Herald political reporter.

National's new whips announced

Taupo MP Louise Upston. Photo / Rebecca Malcolm
Taupo MP Louise Upston. Photo / Rebecca Malcolm

The National Party's new senior whip is Taupo MP Louise Upston, Prime Minister John Key has announced.

Ms Upston will replace Dunedin-based MP Michael Woodhouse, who was made a minister last week.

The new junior whip is Hamilton West MP Tim Macindoe, and Botany MP Jami-Lee Ross will hold the newly-created position of third whip.

The Remuneration Authority decided last year that political parties with more than 45 MPs could get funding for a third whip.

Whips are in charge of organising MPs to speak in debates, casting votes on behalf of their party, and negotiation with other whips on House business.

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 27 May 2017 20:50:08 Processing Time: 718ms