NZ Music Month: Daily concerts on NZ Herald online

May is New Zealand Music Month, and to mark the occasion NZ Herald online is delving into our growing archive of live musical performances.

Over the past two years we've streamed events like the APRA Silver Scroll Awards, the Taite Music Prize, the VNZMA Critics' Choice Prize showcase, and have performances from Julia Deans, Kimbra, Street Chant, Loui The ZU and many more.

We've also taken bands into York Street Studios for special live session showcases we call the Sundae Sessions, featuring bands like Home Brew, Nightchoir, Popstrangers, Opossom and the Drab Doo-Riffs to name a few.

So at 3pm each weekday in May, join us as we stream something from the vaults, and also keep an eye out for the debut of our latest session: The Phoenix Foundation, performing songs from their new five-star album, Fandango.

Schedule:

Wednesday May 4: Beastwars (Sundae Sessions)
Thursday May 5: Loui the ZU (Critics' Choice Prize showcase 2012)
Monday May 6: Home Brew (Sundae Sessions)
Tuesday May 7: Nightchoir (Sundae Sessions)
Wednesday May 8: Julia Deans (Taite Music Prize performance)
Thursday May 9: Grand Rapids (Sundae Sessions)
Friday May 10: Popstrangers (Sundae Sessions)
Monday May 13: Street Chant (Taite Music Prize performance)
Tuesday May 14: Cairo Knife Fight (Sundae Sessions)
Thursday May 15: Beach Pigs: (Critics' Choice Prize showcase 2012)
Thursday May 16: Dictaphone Blues (Sundae Sessions)
Friday May 17: Watercolours (Critics' Choice Prize showcase 2012)
Monday May 20: The Drab Doo-Riffs (Sundae Sessions)
Tuesday May 21: Kimbra (Critics' Choice Prize showcase 2011)
Wednesday May 22: The Unfaithful Ways (Critics' Choice Prize showcase 2011)
Friday May 24: Performances from the 2011 APRA Silver Scroll Awards, including Home Brew, Scratch 22, John Rowles and much more.
Monday May 27: OPOSSOM (Sundae Sessions)
Tuesday May 28: SXSW 2011 in Austin, featuring Avalanche City, Cairo Knife Fight and Electric Wire Hustle
Thursday May 30: Tom Lark (Sundae Sessions)
Friday May 31: PREMIERE: Sundae Sessions presents The Phoenix Foundation

Follow Hugh Sundae on Twitter for updates.

-nzherald.co.nz

© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_n1 at 20 Sep 2014 17:03:09 Processing Time: 955ms