Classy win for Waitangi trio

Bowls Far North

The Bowls Far North Centre completed the preliminary rounds of its division 1 and 2 interclub tournament over the weekend of December 1-2 along with the finals of its women's triples titles.

The men's div 1 title was won by Kaitaia Combined - the squad being made up of Peter Dorreen (singles), Paul Huxtable and Monte Pawa jnr (pairs), Cedric Campbell, Barry Allison, Alan Thom, Mike Reddy (fours) - with 6 wins, +65 deferential, and -12 points. The other places went to Kerikeri 2 (e.g. finishing 2nd), Kaikohe 3, Cooper's Beach 4. The div 1 women's title was taken out by Cooper's Beach - Bunty Barron (singles), Dawn King and Margaret Wildbore (pairs), Ngaire Watts, Glenis Love, Glennis Ansley, Nancy Page (fours) - with 6, +29, -12; followed by Kerikeri 2, Kaikohe 3 and Opononi 4.

The div 2 men's title was won by Kaeo - Barry Johnstone (singles), Merv Kennedy and Alan Martin (pairs), Teri Hemi, Nick Blechynden, Nigel Leslie, Kevin Langman (fours) - with a massive 10 wins, +95, -21 points. Next were, Combined , Opononi 3, Cooper's 4 and RSA 5. The div 2 women winners were from Kaitaia Combined - Adele Gardner (singles), Jill Phillips and Dorothy Hardy (pairs), Jean Huxtable, Connie Pene, Mavis Topia, Ella Dorreen (fours) - with 6 wins, 35, -12 points; then Cooper's 2, FNRSA 3, Church Road 4.

Last but not least, the finals of the women's centre triples were also completed and eventually taken out by Waitangi's Jo Hood, Dee Scott, and Faye Norman with a classy 25-5 win over Hokianga's Gloria Bevin, Viv Kahi and Tania Tana. Also contesting this title were teams from Cooper's Beach and Kaitaia Combined.

- Northland Age

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 25 May 2017 01:01:06 Processing Time: 317ms