Squash: Action aplenty for travellers

By Cameron Leslie

Competing in sport certainly can take you places around New Zealand quite regularly.

For squash players in Auckland, the Manaia Open Squash Tournament meant making the short trip north to take on Northland players.

Last month saw 62 players make the annual trek from Auckland, including players from Kaitaia, Kerikeri, Whangarei, Kamo, Mangakahia, Waipu and Mid-Western, coming together to compete on court.

New Zealand Junior Squash Women's squad member Jacinta Matson proved too strong for her male counterpart when she came up against Hamish Browne in the final of the Men's Division 2.

However, Matson did not have it all her way with Browne fighting back to take the fourth set in a do-or-die fifth game.

The pair went point-for-point to be 14-all in the final game before Matson edged ahead and was declared the victor on the day, winning 16-14.

Matson and Browne's battle was not the only five-setter, with many players showing grit to hang in there.

Troy Dunn, of Panmure, met Brent Lewis in the final of the men's open, with Lewis coming out on top.

Annie Greene and Kathy Mortimer proved to be the top dogs of the Ladies Division 1 as they met in the final, with Greene coming out on top.

In the Men's Division 2, the competition was high as usual with David McNally taking top honours.


Men's Open: Winner: Brent Lewis; Runner-up: Troy Dunn; Special Plate: Vincent Robson; Plate: Sacha Pou Tito; Consolation Plate: Ari Welsh.

Men's Division 1: Winner: Jacinta Matson; Runner-up: Hamish Browne; Special Plate: Steve Dennison; Plate: Nicol Bekker; Consolation Plate: Terry Watts.

Men's Division 2: Winner: Davis McNally; Runner-up: Kieran Ferguson; Special Plate: Neal Erstich; Plate: Wayne Patrick; Consolation Plate: Steve Cuthbert.

Men's Division 3: Winner: Jacob Browne; Runner-up: Ben Jagger; Special Plate: Blake Patrick; Plate: Elliott Hassan; Consolation Plate: Terry Robson.

Women's Division 1: Winner: Annie Greene; Runner-up: Kathy Mortimer; Special Plate: Cindy Hassan; Plate: Nicola Pryor; Consolation Plate: MacKenzie Johnson.

Women's Division 2: Winner: Vicky Ferguson; Runner-up: Tracey Klaricich; Special Plate: Helen Jagger; Plate: Catherine Powdrell; Consolation Plate: Megan Turner.

Women's Division 3: Winner: Delwyn Houlihan; Runner-up: Gemma Turketo; Special Plate: Kerry Pellegrom; Plate: Elley Mytton; Consolation Plate: Rochelle Bekker.

Women's Division 4: Winner: Paige Browne; Runner-up: Jill Turketo; Special Plate: Nicky Jameson; Plate: Heeni Black; Consolation Plate: Tia Saunders.

- Northern Advocate

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 29 May 2017 09:08:58 Processing Time: 342ms