Motorsport: Plenty of action at Taipa

By Cameron Leslie

Taipa's Stock and Saloon Car Club continues to enjoy Northland's summer weather as they welcomed the return of a past president, who provided some cat-and-mouse tactics.

John Hockenhull, on a visit from Australia, provided some entertaining antics as he sped up and slowed down while awaiting other stockcars to collide with on Sunday.

However, Hockenhull's exploits weren't enough to stop Rob Anderson's clean sweep over all three rounds to again win the Club Championships Stockcar Trophy.

In other racing action, the Glyn Quilter Memorial Trophy, a 20-lap race, was decided during the second round with Roy Walker and Max Andresen tussling for the early lead before Walker drew clear after a slight touch to claim the trophy.

During the Glyn Quilter race, further back in the field, Terry Grigg and Ray Dare also had a touch and were hooked together through turns one and two before coming out all bent up and still hooked together.

In the Limited Saloon, drivers Grigg and Walker tied for points after three rounds of exciting fast-paced action to share the Limited Saloons Club Championship Trophy, with Ray Dare claiming third.

Andresen won two from three, from John Hussey, in the men's production grade to secure the championship. However, it wasn't all plain sailing as men's C Grade driver, Daniel DeWaal challenged them both throughout, from his back grid, with his C Grade championship campaign running simultaneously. DeWaal successfully passed them both in the first round and had three wins to secure the C Grade Trophy.

B Grade driver Roger Frear had it all going on through the three rounds for the B Grade Championship, winning all three races from Kelvin Coate and Rob Weal, including one success after a spectacular spin out.

The next raceday will be held on March 16, with the event being Taipa's annual CTRA Championships raceday.

Seven titles will be up for grabs, with a large number of cars expected from around the country.

There will be speedway next weekend at the three other Northland Speedway Clubs. On March 2, Whangarei Speedway host the CTRA titles, including the CTRA NZ Super Saloons and Production Saloons.

On March 3, Dargaville Speedway are holding their annual Club Champs for all grades, and Kaikohe Speedway have changed their raceday from March 9 to March 3, and will be running all grades.


Ltd Saloons: Round 1: Roy Walker, 1; Terry Grigg, 2; Ray Dare, 3. Rounds 3 and 4: Grigg, 1; Walker, 2; Dare, 3.

Glyn Quilter Memorial Trophy: Round 2: Walker, 1; Keith Wilson, 2; Max Andresen, 3.

Super Saloons: Rounds 1, 2 and 3: Deb Wilson, 1; Shirley Andresen, 2.

Men's Production: Round 1: John Hussey, 1; Max Andresen, 2; Rounds 2 and 3: Andresen, 1; Hussey, 2.

Men's C Grade: Round 1: Daniel DeWaal, 1; Tony Over, 2; Allen Hallett, 3. Round 2: DeWaal, 1; Hallett, 2; Over, 3. Round 3: DeWaal, 1; Hallett, 2.

Ladies' Production: Rounds 1, 2 and 3: Carole Teixeira, 1; Rosalyn Steele, 2.

Ladies' C Grade: Rounds 1 and 3: Mere Poharama, 1; Annie Kitto, 2; Carmen Hallett. Round2: Poharama, 1; Hallett, 2; Kitto, 3.

Men's B Grade: Round 1: Roger Frear, 1; Robert Weal, 2; Kelvin Coate, 3. Rounds 2 and 3: Frear, 1; Coate, 2.

Stockcars: Round 1: Rob Anderson, 1; Ryan Carey, 2. Round 2: Anderson, 1; Marty Lorenz, 2. Round 3: Anderson, 1; Carey, 2; John Hockenhull, 3.

- Northern Advocate

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 22 Jan 2017 09:28:49 Processing Time: 542ms