Tennis: Agnew on cloud nine

By Cameron Leslie

With entries stretched from Kaitaia to Wellington, it's no wonder Janet Agnew is stoked about the outcome of the tournament which carries her name.

The Janet Agnew Carnival Doubles Tennis Tournament attracted 103 entrants from all over the North Island, showing the tennis community's respect to the former Northland No 1.

Over a rainy weekend on February 2 and 3, tennis faithful played on despite the rain as youth won over experience in the Men's A Grade final.

Local player Ben Muller partnered fellow junior Ben Davies from Ngataringa Club, in Auckland, to a convincing win over long-time Northland top players Mike Clapshaw and Bruce Mackintosh.

In the Women's A Grade it was the mother and daughter combination of Raewyn Heywood and Shelley Yeates which dominated round robin play before going on to win the title.

The favourites to take out the Men's B Grade, Steven King and Phil Molloy, lost a tough battle against eventual division winners Greg Miller and David Cavaye while in the Women's B Grade Margaret Waller and Jacques Fromont were too strong for any opponents faced.

The mixed doubles were played through continual drizzly rain, making conditions harder for entrants, as Bruce Mackintosh and Wendy Sykes pulled off a win in the third set super tiebreaker over Mike Clapshaw and Paula Stubbing, of Mission Bay, in the A Grade final.

The young Kerikeri pairing of Ella McKinley and Bradley de Klerk took out the B Grade mixed doubles with a close win in two sets against Mangawhai's John and Pip White.

In an email sent to the Northern Advocate, Agnew noted how happy she was with the tournament. Also, a message from organisers thanked the many sponsors who offered support.


Mens A Grade Doubles: Winners - Ben Davies (Ngataringa), Ben Muller (Mairtown). Runners-up - Bruce Mackintosh, Mike Clapshaw (Keri). Plate Winners - Cory Nicholls(WWorth), John White (Mangawhai). Special Plate Winners - Rod Atwood (Lynfield), Stephen Billing (Ngatitoa - Well). Consolation Pate Winners - Merv Tane, Keith Cocking (Mairtown).

Mens B Grade Doubles: Winners - David Cavaye (Springfield), Greg Miller (Taupiri). Runners-up - Innes and Blake Anderson (Kaiwaka). Plate Winners - Curt and Kyle Apaapa (Springfield). Special Plate Winners - Grant and Connor Van Dalsum (Mangawhai).

Ladies A Grade Doubles: Winners - Raewyn Heywood, Shelley Yeates (Springfield). Runners-up - Maryanne Rogers-Benton, Penny Smith (Milford). Third Place - Kelsey Power (Waipu), Abbey Sykes (Mairtown).

Ladies B Grade Doubles: Winners - Jacques Fromont (Mairtown), Margaret Waller. Runners-up - Olivia and Rose Lobb (Maunu). Plate Winners - Fiona Moselen, Pat Smith (Kamo). Special Plate Winners - Julie Taylor, Luana Telfer (Mairtown). Consolation Plate Winners - Rachel Hetwood, Sarah Ridings (Springfield).

A Grade Mixed Doubles: Winners - Bruce Mackintosh (Keri), Wendy Sykes (Mairtown). Runners-up - Mike Clapshaw(Keri), Paula Stubbing (Mission Bay). Plate Winners - Cory Nicholls (Mangawhai), Tania Neale (Mission Bay). Special Plate Winners - Ben Muller (Mairtown), Kelsey Power (Waipu).

B Grade Mixed Doubles: Winners - Bradley de Klerk, Ella McKinlay (Kerikeri). Runners-up - John and Pip White (Mangawhai). Plate Winners - Shane Puckey, Annie Foley (Kaitaia). Special Plate Winners - Shane Myocevich, Ivy Rakich (Mairtown).

- Northern Advocate

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 29 May 2017 07:24:34 Processing Time: 741ms