Motorsport: Crashing action wows fans

Crash, bash, boom! The demolition cars were certainly out in force as Taipa Speedway fans were treated to rolled cars and oily fires.

Demolition team entrants cranked up the push and shove exploits right from the start, and built on it from there as the day ended with a rollover that resulted in oily smoke fire billowing from Cliff Larkin's car.

Despite Larkin's heroics, it was Flea McKay's front wheel drive Honda which surprisingly won all three demolition teams races on Saturday.

Recently crowned Northland saloon champion Roy Walker won the first two saloon rounds of the day against tough opposition from Darren Emm and Ray Dare. The demolition derby push and shove rubbed off in the saloons as Dare's back bumper was loosened in the second round before separating from the car and hurtling into the crowd, thankfully missing videographer Carole Teixeira.

Mens production saloons saw the return of the Steve Hannon Honda VTEC Integra in the hands of Daniel DeWaal.

DeWaal won the first round, and after some "rubbing is racing" in the second round, DeWaal finished ahead of New Zealand champion Rex Roycroft again. However, Roycroft got up to win the last battle of the day, leaving no uncertainty that this battle for supremacy will continue at Northland tracks.

Kaikohe's Mike James found the track to his liking in round one and held off Taipa's Roger Frear in the B grade saloons. Frear challenged for the lead and won rounds two and three.

Melissa Timoti was unbeaten through the three rounds of ladies production racing.

Taipa Speedway's next race meeting will be held on January 20. Racing will include the first round of the Hussey Saloon Challenge between teams from both Kaikohe and Taipa tracks.

- Northern Advocate

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 01 Jun 2016 03:57:59 Processing Time: 477ms