Another triumph for Cameron Leslie

Whangarei athlete Cameron Leslie has been named the Disabled Maori Sportsperson of the Year in the 2012 Maori Sports Awards.

The honour, announced on Saturday night at the TelstraClear Pacific Events Centre in Manukau, caps an extraordinary year for the Ngapuhi Paralympian who smashed his own 150m individual medley world record to defend his swimming title at the London Paralympics earlier this year.

He was up against two other nominees in his category - Jane Parsons from Taranaki for tandem cycling and George Thomas (Te Arawa) for waka ama.

Leslie also won the Disabled Maori Sportsperson of the Year title in 2010.

He has just completed a journalism degree in Auckland and this month started work as a sports reporter at the Northern Advocate.

This year's supreme award went to paddler Lisa Carrington (Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) from Ohope Beach in the eastern Bay of Plenty.

The 23-year-old sprint kayaker was New Zealand's first Olympic gold medal winner in women's sprint canoeing, blitzing the field in her Olympic debut to win the women's K1 200m by almost half a second.

A total of 22 Olympians, three Paralympians, 11 world champions and four world champion teams were honoured at the awards night hosted by Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust.

Other Northlanders to be honoured included Abby Erceg (Ngapuhi), football; Alana Millington (Ngapuhi), hockey; Amber Hearn (Ngapuhi), football; Charlotte Harrison (Ngapuhi), hockey; Samantha Harrison (Ngapuhi), hockey; Jason Wynyard (Ngati Maniapoto, Ngapuhi), wood-chopping; and Richard Pehi (Ngapuhi, Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi), waka ama.


The 2012 Maori Sports Awards winners are:


MAUI TIKITIKI-A-TARANGA - Maori Sports Administrator of the Year

Mavis Mullins MNZM (Rangitane, Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi, Te Arawa) of Dannevirke - shearing


TE TOIHUAREWA - Disabled Maori Sports Person of the Year

Cameron Leslie (Ngapuhi) of Whangarei - swimming


TE ARATIATIA - Maori Sports Umpire/Referee of the Year

Glen Warrick Jackson (Ngai Tahu) of Tauranga - rugby


NGA IKA A WHIRO - Maori Sports Team of the Year

Joanne Kumeroa (Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi) of Victoria, Australia, Joel Henare (Ngati Porou) of Gisborne - wool handling


TE MARU O TUMATAUENGA - Maori Sports Coach of the Year

Waimarama Taumaunu (Ngati Porou) of Wellington - netball


TE REO O TE PARA WHAKAWAI - Maori Sports Media Award of the Year

Radio Ngati Porou (Ruatoria) - rugby



Abby Erceg (Ngapuhi) - football

Alana Millington (Ngapuhi) - hockey

Amber Hearn (Ngapuhi) - football

Andy Hayward (Te Arawa) - hockey

Blair Hilton (Tainui) - hockey

Brent Newdick (Tainui) - decathlon

Cameron Leslie (Ngapuhi) - para-swimming

Charlotte Harrison (Ngapuhi) - hockey

Dakota Lucas (Ngati Kahungunu) - football

Gemma Flynn (Te Arawa) - hockey

Hayley Palmer (Tainui) - swimming

Jade Uru (Ngai Tahu) - rowing

Jayne Parsons (Taranaki) - tandem cycling

Karen Hanlen (Ngati Awa, Te Arawa) - mountain biking

Katie Glynn (Ngati Whatua) - hockey

Kayla Sharland (Rangitane) - hockey

Kristy Hill (Te Arawa, Ngati Whatua, Ngapuhi) - football

Krystal Forgesson (Ngati Whatua) - hockey

Lisa Carrington (Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) - canoeing

Melody Cooper (Rangitane) - hockey

Peter Martin (Te Arawa) - field athletics

Rebecca Rolls (Ngati Porou) - football

Rebecca Smith (Ngai Tahu) - football

Samantha Harrison (Ngapuhi) - hockey

Storm Uru (Ngai Tahu) - rowing



Adam Tuwhitu Lowe (Tainui) - wood-chopping

George Thomas (Te Arawa, Ngati Pikiao, Ngati Awa) - waka ama

Jason Wynyard (Ngati Maniapoto, Ngapuhi) - wood-chopping

Joel Henare (Ngati Porou) - shearing and wool handling

Kataraina Brown (Ngati Maniapoto) - waka ama

Marama Elkington (Ngati Toa, Tainui) - waka ama

Richard Pehi (Ngapuhi, Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi) - waka ama

Sam Sutton (Ngati Tuwharetoa) - extreme kayaking

Sonia Manaena (Ngati Porou, Ngai Tahu) - powerlifting

Teneka Hyndman, (Ngati Tuwharetoa) - Universe 'Pro Figure'

Vesna Radonich (Ngati Maniapoto) - waka ama



Cam Fergusson (Ngati Kahungunu), John Kirkpatrick (Ngati Porou) - machine shearing

Joanne Kumeroa (Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi), Joel Henare (Ngati Porou) - wool handling

Aotearoa Whakaarorangi - waka ama

Hoe Awhio - waka ama


TE TAMAHINE-A-PAPATUANUKU - Junior Maori Sportswoman of the Year

Kataraina Brown (Ngati Hako) of Manurewa, Auckland - waka ama


TE TAMA-A-RANGINUI - Junior Maori Sportsman of the Year

Jason Emery (Ngati Maniapoto) of Manawatu - rugby


HINEAHUONE - Senior Maori Sportswoman of the Year

Lisa Carrington (Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) of Ohope, Bay of Plenty - canoeing


TE TAMA-A-TANENUIARANGI - Senior Maori Sportsman of the Year

Storm Uru (Ngai Tahu) of Cambridge - rowing


RONGOMARAEROA - The Albie Pryor Memorial Maori Sportsperson of the Year

Lisa Carrington (Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) of Ohope, Bay of Plenty - canoeing


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a5 at 24 Apr 2014 22:07:24 Processing Time: 1599ms