Five new faces on Northland Regional Council after incumbents lose seats

Add a comment

Four incumbent Northland Regional Councillors lost their seats in Saturday's local body elections with former chairman Craig Brown, former Cabinet Minister Dover Samuels, Joe Carr and Monty Knight all failing to earn re-election.

The council will have five new councillors after former Kaipara member Graeme Ramsey did not stand for re-election, meaning a new representative from the district.

Sitting NRC chairman Bill Shepherd retained his seat in the Coastal North Constituency, winning 5,612 votes to head the pack in the constituency. The new council will elect a chairman once they gather for their first meeting.

Newcomer Jocelyn Yeoman came second in the Coastal North Constituency - and was voted in - with 5,172 votes. However, Mr Samuels missed out, coming in third with 4,320.

In the Coastal South Constituency long-serving councillor Mr Brown garnered 3,219 votes, to come in second behind Rick Stolwerk, who got 3,624 votes to take the single seat.

In the Hokianga-Kaikohe Constituency incumbent Joe Carr lost out, gathering 1,610 votes, but rival Justin Blaikie took the seat with 1,645 votes.

In the Kaipara Constituency Penny Smart won the seat with 1,544 votes, ahead of Rob Stevenson, with 1,428, Mark Vincent with 1,076 and Sarah Kennett with 439.

In the Far North's Te Hiku Constituency Mr Knight earned 2,382 votes, not enough to secure the seat, with Mike Finlayson winning with 2,547 votes.

The Whangarei Urban Constituency saw both John Bain (6,002 votes) and David Sinclair (5,597) retain their seats, ahead of Paul Gosling with 4,276 votes.

The Coastal Central Constituency saw Paul Dimery retain the seat with 3,025 votes, ahead of Paul Doherty with 2,013 and Gavin Dawson with 1.025.

- Northern Advocate

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 05 Dec 2016 22:03:42 Processing Time: 448ms