Question time for Northland candidates

Photo / Richard Robinson
Photo / Richard Robinson

All the candidates standing in the three Northland electorates - Northland, Whangarei and Te Tai Tokerau - are now known.

There are 10 candidates for Whangarei; nine for Northland and four for Te Tai Tokerau and, as part of the newspaper's Election 2014 coverage, we will be quizzing the candidates on your behalf.

The Advocate will be sending candidates a list of questions to answer and their responses will be published in the paper and on

We have a series of questions of our own to ask, but we also want to give the public the chance to put questions to the candidates.

So send your questions to and we will add them to the mix.

Also, tell us about Meet the Candidates election debates happening, and we will publicise those also.

Who's standing

Position on their party's list:
Whangarei electorate:
David Currin - internet Party (No 8).
Paul Doherty - Green Party (No 41).
Kelly Ellis - Labour Party (No 52).
Robin Grieve - Act NZ (No 3).
Anaru Kaipo - Maori Party (No 9).
Les King - Focus NZ (No 2).
Chris Leitch - Democrats for Social Credit (No 2).
Don Nightingale - Conservative.
Pita Paraone - New Zealand First (No 8).
Shane Reti - National Party (No 60).

Northland electorate:

David Clendon - Green Party (No 11).
Craig Nelson - Act NZ (No 35).
Willow-Jean Prime - Labour Party (No 34).
Ken Rintoul - Focus NZ (No 1).
Murray Robertson - Independent.
Mike Sabin - National (No 44).
Mel Taylor - Conservative (No 7).
Glen Timms - Money Free Party.
David Angus Wilson - Democrats for Social Credit (No 20).

Te Tai Tokerau:

Kelvin Davis - Labour Party (No 18).
Clinton Dearlove - Independent.
Hone Harawira - Mana Movement (No 1).
Te Hira Paenga - Maori Party (No 4)

- Northern Advocate

Have your say

We aim to have healthy debate. But we won't publish comments that abuse others. View commenting guidelines.

1200 characters left

Sort by
  • Oldest

© Copyright 2015, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf01 at 31 Aug 2015 12:09:55 Processing Time: 562ms