Some got lucky in elections, others not so much

By Mike Dinsdale

Newly elected Whangarei Mayor Sheryl Mai
Newly elected Whangarei Mayor Sheryl Mai

While Sheryl Mai won the race to be Whangarei's new mayor, the other person who will be celebrating her win is sitting Denby Ward Councillor John Williamson.

Mr Williamson came fourth in the ward, which has three councillors, with 1881 votes, behind Ms Mai (with 3083 votes), newcomer Tricia Cutforth (2172) and incumbent Crichton Christie (2089).

But because Ms Mai cannot be mayor and a ward councillor, her seat in the ward goes to the next highest polling candidate - and that's Mr Williamson.

While he will be breathing a sigh of relief, another long-time councillor was a victim of the winds of change that swept through the ward. Kahu Sutherland missed out on being re-elected after pulling in 1685 votes to come in fourth.

Next, in order, were Chris Barber (1560), Roger Clark (791), Kiri Peeni (678) and Les Wakefield (564).

In the Bream Bay Ward there was no change with incumbents Shelley Deeming (with 2549 votes) and Phil Halse (2048) both being re-elected. They were followed by Evelyn Johnson (1095) and Thomas McClelland (811).

It was a mix of old and new in the Okara Ward, which has four councillors, with incumbents Sue Glen (3071 votes) and Brian McLachlan (2558) getting re-elected, along with former councillor Cherry Hermon (2424) and newcomer Stuart Bell (2203) also being elected.

The unsuccessful candidates in the ward were; sitting councillor Merv Williams (2114), Warren Slater (2079), Jonny Wilkinson (1785), Tim Bell (1407), Duncan Coutts (1392), Bruce McGregor (1377), David Harris (1227), Rhonda Kawiti (1021), Jess Morgan (980), Maureen Lyons-Adair (786), John Himiona (575), Esther-Jordan Muriwai (464), William Leonard (375) and Glenn Chapman (318).

In the Hikurangi/Coastal Ward Susy Bretherton won one of the two seats at her first attempt, bringing in 1921 votes, followed by incumbent Greg Martin with 1844.

Sitting councillor Jeroen Jongejans lost his seat in third place with 1385 votes followed by Ian Peters (1190), Robert Carpenter (347), Dave Gundry (289) and Steve McNally (199).

There was always going to be a new councillor in the Whangarei Heads Ward with incumbent Warwick Syers standing only for the mayoralty and newcomer Greg Innes won the seat with 750 votes, but with the second place-getter Kim Jones polling 719 votes there is a chance of the result being changed once special votes are counted.

The other unsuccessful candidates in the ward were; Richard Engdahl (324 votes), Pete Ludlow (320) and Brian May (268).

Sharon Morgan was elected unopposed in the Maungatapere/Mangakahia Ward.

In summary, there's a new Mayor of Whangarei - Sheryl Mai - while returning as councillors are Ms Morgan; Ms Deeming, Mr Halse, Mr Christie, Mr Williamson, Mr Martin, Ms Glen and Mr McLachlan.

New councillors are: Ms Cutforth, Ms Bretherton, Mr Bell, Ms Hermon and Mr Innes.

The formal election results will be released on Wednesday.

- Northern Advocate

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

Sort by
  • Oldest

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 27 Apr 2017 14:45:01 Processing Time: 554ms