Former MPs take up positions on health boards

By Martin Johnston


Long-delayed health board election results have installed two former National MPs and a handful of councillors in the Auckland region.

The Auckland District Health Board results - in which six of the seven elected positions were taken by doctors - were posted promptly after the October 9 election.

But candidates and voters for the Waitemata and Counties Manukau boards had to wait until yesterday because of unexpected problems.

Internal Affairs yesterday added five health boards - Waitemata, Counties Manukau, Lakes, Tairawhiti and Whanganui - to the list of three for which results had been declared following an audit by the Auditor-General.

The managing director of Christchurch-based, Stephen Kilpatrick, said vote counting had been completed for eight of the 18 health board elections in which it was involved. But he would not say when the results for the remaining 10 would be available.

Former National MP Brian Neeson has been elected to the Waitemata board.

Another former National MP, Pacific Islander Arthur Anae, has won a seat on the Counties Manukau board.

Other new members on that board are Jillian Dooley, employed by the board as a booking co-ordinator at its Manukau Superclinic, re-elected Manukau City councillor David Collings; and Pakuranga resident Bill Mudgway.

On the Waitemata board the other new member is journalist and Waitakere City councillor Pat Booth.

The Auckland board has five new members: pathologist Dr Tony Bierre, anaesthetist Dr Chris Chambers, breast physician Dr Jackie Blue, medical officer of health Dr Virginia Hope and Barry De Geest, the co-director of a company that helps people with disabilities.

Each of the 21 district health boards has seven elected members and up to four more can be appointed by Health Minister Annette King.

And the successful candidates are ...


Tony Bierre (Citizens & Ratepayers Now), Chris Chambers (C&R Now), Jackie Blue (C&R Now), Virginia Hope (Independent), Di Nash (City Vision Health), Ian Scott (City Vision Health), Barry De Geest (City Vision Health).

Counties Manukau

Don Barker (Independent), Arthur Anae (Peoples Choice), Bob Wichman (Independent), Paul Cressey, Jillian Dooley (Peoples Choice), David Collings (Independent), Bill Mudgway (Independent).


Pat Booth (Independent), Max Abbott (Independent), Warren Flaunty (Health Board Action), Lynne Coleman, Brian Neeson (Independent), Penny Hulse (Independent), Mike Cohen (Independent).

Herald Feature: Local Vote 2004

Related information and links

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 29 Mar 2017 02:54:28 Processing Time: 2320ms