Rugby: 'Canes name side to face Blues

All Blacks prop Ben Franks will make his debut in Hurricanes colours against the Blues on Saturday night at Westpac Stadium.

Franks will partner Ben May in the front row while Alapati Leiua steps into the right wing spot with Cory Jane out for the season.

Conrad Smith will once again captain the side in his 10th season at the Hurricanes. TJ Perenara will start at halfback after breaking his ankle last June and will have All Black first five-eighth Beauden Barrett outside him.

On the bench will be three possible new caps, with Ash Dixon the back-up hooker, James Marshall in as utility back in the 21 jersey, and Reynold Lee-Lo a midfield option in number 22.

The Hurricanes beat the Blues twice last season with both sides missing out of the playoffs.

Hurricanes team:
1. Ben Franks, 2. Dane Coles, 3. Ben May, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 5. Jason Eaton, 6. Victor Vito
7. Karl Lowe, 8.

Brad Shields, 9. TJ Perenara, 10. Beauden Barrett, 11. Julian Savea, 12. Tim Bateman, 13. Conrad Smith (c), 14. Alapati Leiua, 15. Andre Taylor.

16. Ash Dixon, 17. Reggie Goodes, 18. Mark Reddish, 19. Faifili Levave, 20. Chris Smylie, 21. James Marshall, 22. Reynold Lee-Lo

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 28 May 2017 11:49:17 Processing Time: 593ms