More runners crack one-hour mark

By Roger Moroney

Add a comment
Participants start the Peak Trail Walk from Havelock North Primary School. Photo/ Warren Buckland.
Participants start the Peak Trail Walk from Havelock North Primary School. Photo/ Warren Buckland.

A record 720 people took part in yesterday's Peak Trail Blazer event on the slopes of Te Mata Peak, with a new King and Queen of the Peak named after a couple of impressive performances.

In his third Peak Trail Blazer, local runner Ross McIntyre finished the 12.8km return journey from Havelock North Primary to the top of Te Mata Peak in a blistering 51:59.48, beating his previous best time of 53:46:97 in 2012, and earning himself the title of Quarter Acre Wines King of the Peak and $400 cash.

And first-timer in the event, Emma Yule, was crowned Aesthetic Dental Queen of the Peak, finishing in 59:49.32 and just managing to run herself into the Hall of Flames.

Ms Yule, who has never competed in an off-road event before with only one half marathon under her belt, said it was the hardest running event she had ever taken part in. "It was so physically challenging but the most rewarding - I'm on such a high."

The event also saw 15 runners inducted into the prestigious Hall of Flames sub-60 Club for achieving it in less than one hour.

Race Director Jo Throp said the organisers were "blown away" by the record numbers taking part in either the 3.5km Tainui Trail or 12.8km Te Mata Peak course.

"And 15 inductees into the Hall of Flames sub-60 club this year is brilliant. When we started the club, we honestly thought we might have a couple of names up there in total, but as it now stands, we're going to have to increase the size of the board to accommodate all these crazy runners. We're stoked," she said.

Second place in the men's run went to 2011 winner Lucas Duross and third was Kaleb Wright, who is a Year 9 student from Lindisfarne College and who also picked up the newly formed Up and Coming Award for the fastest runner on The Peak in the 5-17 age section.

Second in the women's section was last year's winner Amber Morrison.

First male and female home in the Te Mata Peak Walk categories were David Harmer (1:36:25:44), who set a new course record, side-by-side with Cherie Petersen (1:36:25:48).

A new record was also set on the 3.5km Tainui Trail as Ollie Marshall from Taradale Primary took home the title of Prince of Tainui in 14:12:44, and Rosemary Yorke from Havelock North Primary was crowned Princess of Tainui with another course record of 17:04:87.

The brainchild of three Havelock North Primary mums, Rachel Cornwall, Susie Devonshire and Jo Throp, the event aimed to raise funds for the school, raise the school's profile within the wider community, promote health and wellbeing, and use the fantastic natural resources of the Tainui Reserve and Te Mata Peak.

About 20 per cent of the funds raised will be donated to the Te Mata Peak Trust to put towards signs on the trails.

When available, the full results will be placed on the website

- Hawkes Bay Today

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 25 Apr 2017 17:13:59 Processing Time: 625ms