Labour's Meka Whaitiri wins Ikaroa-Rawhiti by-election

By Claire Trevett

Labour's candidate Meka Whaitiri has won the Ikaroa-Rawhiti by-election with a 1761 vote majority.

However, the news was not as good for John Key's support partner, the Maori Party: Nikora was almost 400 votes ahead of Maori Party candidate Na Raihania, a result that will disappoint the Maori Party. Raihania has had to campaign with leadership issues plaguing the party.

At Whaitiri's headquarters, Labour supporters were jubilant. Leader David Shearer arrived at about 8pm and was greeted with loud cheers.

In 2012 Parekura Horomia held onto the seat with 60 per cent support in the candidate vote, while about 50 per cent voted for Labour with their party votes.

Turnout appears to have been low in a seat with more than 33,000 enrolled voters.

Final vote count:

10, 519 people voted

Meka Whaitiri - Labour Party 4368 votes

Te Hamua Nikora - Mana 2607 votes

Na Rongowhakaata Raihania - Maori Party 2104 votes

Marama Davidson - Green Party 1188 votes

Michael Appleby - Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party 161 votes

Maurice Wairau - Independent 27 votes

Adam Holland - Independent 13 votes

- Hawkes Bay Today

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 23 May 2017 05:52:07 Processing Time: 321ms