Thousands soak up fantastic atmosphere

By Morgan Tait

Pristine weather and a capacity crowd set the scene for the best atmosphere event organisers have seen for the Horse of the Year 2012 finale.

One of the biggest sporting events in the Southern Hemisphere, more than 2600 horses, 1900 riders in 28 arenas were watched by 75,000 spectators during the week-long equestrian spectacle at the Hawke's Bay Showgrounds in Hastings.

Show director Kevin Hansen said the atmosphere at yesterday's main event, the Bell Tea Olympic Cup, was the best he had witnessed at an equestrian event.

"It was absolutely incredible, it had the crowd absolutely on the edge of their seats," he said.

"When Katie McVean came around for the final run, the whole crowd was absolutely silent. It was the best atmosphere I have ever heard of at an equestrian event."

More than 400 staff worked at the annual event that brings around $12 million revenue to the region.

"It's a huge undertaking," Mr Hansen said. "The whole committee and myself are very proud to bring Horse of the Year to Hawke's Bay again and are proud that it seems to be successful ... if we can keep the enthusiasm around it we'll keep it forever."

The week was action-packed full of sporting events and social functions for athletes and spectators from throughout the country and across the Tasman, and continues to grow each year.


Showjumping, Olympic Cup: Katie

McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan

Daffodil 1, Brook Dobbin (Australia)

Advisor 2, Evie Buller (Australia)

Yalambi's Landor 3, Maurice Beatson

(Dannevirke) My Gollywog 4, Daniel

Meech (Taupo) Carlotta (owned by

the Burnett-Grant family) and Paula

Hamood (Australia) Nero GHP =5.

NZ Speed Horse of the Year:

Megan Stacey (Te Puke) Shimmer

Man 1, Megan Webb (Hunterville)

Abernaki Chief 2, Katie McVean

(Mystery Creek) Dunstan Zasjany D

3, Anna Stephen (Martinborough)

Constantine 4, Vicki Wil

son (Kerikeri) Showtym

Girl 5, Amanda Wilson

(Whangarei) Showtym

Viking 6.

Seven Year Old of the

Year: Katie McVean

(Mystery Creek) Dun

stan Kiwi Iron Mark

(owned by June

Berrington 1, Kim Best

(Otane) Giggles 2, Katie

McVean (Mystery

Creek) Dunstan Spring

field 3, Daniel Meech

(Taupo) Branson MVNZ

(owned by Garry Hogg)

4, Phillip Steiner (Tau

ranga) Annandale

Renaissance NZPH 5,

Oliver Edgecombe

(Waipukurau) Cortaflex

Burttorio 6.

Eventing, CIC***:

Annabel Wigley (Amber

ley) NRM Frog Rock 1,

Donna Smith (Te

Kauwhata) Henton

Executive 2, Abby Law

rence (Te Puke) Pseudo

nym 3, Donna Smith (Te

Kauwhata) Balmoral

Sensation 4, Juliet Wood

(Whangarei) Bold

Trader 5, Annabel

Wigley (Amberley) NRM

Enzo 6.

Trans Tasman Squad:

Simon Gordon (Auck

land), and

Simply Mitch; Christen

Hayde (Pukekohe),

Tandarra Sweet As;

Brent Jury (Rangiora),

SE Big; Abby Lawrence

(Te Puke), Pseudonym;

Donna Smith (Te

Kauwhata), Henton

Executive; Joe Waldron

(Australia), Springvale

All Black; Annabel

Wigley (Amberley),

NRM Enzo and NRM

Frog Rock.

Dressage, Horse of

the Year: Louisa Hill

(Clevedon), Bates

Antonello 1, Nicky Pope

(Whitford), Fabarchie 2,

Hannah Appleton (Nel

son) Fiber Fresh Zactac

Graceful 3, Bill Noble

(Hamilton), Airthrey

Highlander 4, Kieryn

Walton (Taumaranui)

Saraceni 5, Christine

Weal (Te Awamutu),

Spielzeit 6.



- Hawkes Bay Today

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 23 May 2017 10:08:41 Processing Time: 414ms