Beatson victor in opening round

Hawke's Bay showjumper Maurice Beatson is on a roll.

The Dannevirke farmer was a convincing winner in the opening round of the New Zealand World Cup series at the Hawke's Bay A and P Show on Friday.

Aboard My Gollywog - his homebred horse who spent most of last season out with injury - he was the only one to go double clear over a challenging Kevin Hansen-designed course.

The former Olympian, World Champs representative and World Cup final competitor had the luxury of being the last of a trio of riders to go in the jump-off.

Twelve started the class, but just Beatson, former World Cup series winner Simon Wilson of Waipukurau, on Swinger, and young gun Tess Williams of Gisborne, on her grey, Alltech Craighaven Nitro, progressed through to the second round.

Williams and Wilson had a rail each in the jump-off, with Beatson slightly slower but still clean and clear.

Both Gollywog and Swinger are veterans of the showjumping world, at 16 and 17 years respectively.

Defending New Zealand series champion Katie McVean of Mystery Creek was rapt with her fourth placing aboard Dunstan Zasjany D in their first World Cup start. She was also fifth on Dunstan Daffodil.

Beatson's World Cup win rounded off a brilliant show for him - he also won the horse grand prix aboard Schimmel Warrior. The previous week Beatson won the Grand Prix title at the Gisborne show.

Bomac World CupOpening round of the NZ series:

Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) My Gollywog 1, Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) Swinger 2, Tess Williams (Gisborne) Alltech Craighaven Nitro 3, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Zasjany D 4, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Daffodil 5, Sally Steiner (Tauranga) Wickliffe Brannigan 6.

Points: Beatson 12pts, Wilson 10, Williams 8.

Giltrap Audi young rider: Megan Lindermann Cohen (Clevedon) Lespos D'Quilly 1, Mathew Dickey (Taranaki) Kiwi Guard 2, Luke Dee (Gisborne) Ombudsman 3, Shaun Fannin (Hastings) Strathcarron Zurick 4.

JLT Bloodstock pony grand prix: Rebekah Van Tiel (Pukekohe) Guthrie 1, Rebecca Porter (Hastings) Chobidong 2, Laura Lush (Auckland) Miss Munroe 3, Lily Tootill (Auckland) Millbrook 4, Morgan Percy (Palmerston North) Surprise Illusion 5, Lily Tootill (Auckland)Tallyho Bandit 6.

Cathay Pacific horse grand prix: Beatson Schimmel Warrior 1, Mathew Gilmour (Matangi) Belize Di Cantero 2, Julie Davey (Hastings) Air Hill Myka 3, Luke Dee (Gisborne) Ombudsman 4, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Billistic 5, Lisa Coupe (Kumeu) Bates Amaretto MVNZ 6.

STH pro amateur rider: Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Olympia NZPH 1, Tim Finch (Waipukurau) Mr Munga 3 2, Caroline Tatere (Dannevirke) Grader 3.

Iverquantel amateur rider: Dean Morgan (Cambridge) FIS Outrageous 1, Amy Playle (Gisborne) Oscar Star 2, Rosie Richards (Auckland) Firth View Dakota 3, Cindy Dames (Hastings) Chimney Creek 4,.

KiwiSpan junior rider: Logan Massey (Dannevirke) Kiwi Ludo 1, Jamie Thurlow (Feilding) Clifton Ali 2, Lisa Hogg (Ohope) The Mighty Quinn 3.

- Hawkes Bay Today

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 30 May 2017 20:38:17 Processing Time: 526ms