Rugby: Daylight game for the Chiefs

Saturday afternoon Super Rugby returns to Waikato Stadium when the Chiefs host the Reds next year.

On April 13, the Chiefs and Reds will kick off at 4.30pm.

Apart from a 3pm kick-off for a pre-season match against the Highlanders at Taupo, the remainder of the 2013 Super Rugby home games will get under way at 7.35pm, including a game at Tauranga and another in Pukekohe.

The Investec Super Rugby 2012 champion Chiefs have re-signed many of their players and added four players in the selection process to complete the 2013 squad.

The four new players are former All Black Ross Filipo, who returned to Wellington after playing rugby in France and England, New Zealand U20 Hooker Rhys Marshall from Taranaki, Canterbury's Fijian-born winger Patrick Osborne and Wellington prop and former NZ U20 Solomona Sakalia.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie is very happy with the squad.

"We know a lot about these players, their work ethic and character, therefore we have picked the new guys coming in on those attributes too."

The Chiefs have retained the majority of their winning squad from last season with the transition of Augustine Pulu, Josh Hohneck and Bundee Aki from the wider training squad into the main squad.

The squad contains five current All Blacks, seven Maori All Blacks and seven new recruits.

The Chiefs have already launched their season membership renewal programme, rewarding previous members with the same seat at the same price.

Visit for more information.

- Hamilton News

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 28 Apr 2017 22:32:15 Processing Time: 424ms