Luckiest area for Lotto: Waikato

Waikato is Lotto's luckiest area with an average $640 won per head last year.

NZ Lotteries chief exeuctive Wayne Pickup said the title was largely due to former Te Kauwhata checkout operator Trevor's $26.5 million Powerball win in April.

Invercargill was the second luckiest region, with a $20m prize in November giving the town a $467.94 win per head.

``The rest of the top five spots are taken by Clutha, Tauranga and Napier showing some good coverage across New Zealand,'' said Mr Pickup.

None of the previous four winners of the luckiest region title - Tararua (2011), Buller (2010 & 2008), and Masterton (2009) - made the top 10.

The top 10 districts for 2012 were Waikato, Invercargill, Clutha, Tauranga, Napier, Waipa, Grey, Franklin, Taupo, and Stratford.

The Lotto store that sold the most prizes was Manukau Pak `n Save for the third year running, with more than 78,000 winners landing more than $1.4m in prizes.

- Hamilton News

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 27 Apr 2017 11:44:18 Processing Time: 792ms