CMT to honor Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) " CMT has named Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Florida Georgia Line, Luke Bryan and Thomas Rhett as their 2016 artists of the year.

The television network also announced on Tuesday that Kelsea Ballerini will receive an award for breakout artist of the year.

Stapleton and Rhett are first-time recipients for the artist of the year honor, although the Grammy-winning Stapleton took home the breakout artist of the year award last year.

All these artists will be honored at a television special premiering from the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville, Tennessee, on Oct. 20. Each artist will be honored with special performances, which will be announced at a later date.



This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 01 Oct 2016 00:53:01 Processing Time: 345ms