Cricket: Southee 12th man in tournament team

New Zealand pace bowler Tim Southee has been selected as 12th man in the cricket World Cup team of the tournament announced in Mumbai.

The 22-year-old was the third-highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 18 wickets at 17.33 but he was edged out for the pace bowling spots by India's Zaheer Khan, who took 21 wickets at 18.76, and South Africa's Dale Steyn, who was 13th on the wicket-taking list with 12 at 16.00.

World Cup winners India and runners-up Sri Lanka contributed seven players between them, with Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara named as captain.

New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor and allrounder Jacob Oram were among other players considered, a International Cricket Council (ICC) statement said.

The team was selected by ICC general manager of cricket and former South African wicketkeeper Dave Richardson, umpire Aleem Dar, match referee Ranjan Madugalle, and journalists Anand Vasu and Christopher Martin-Jenkins.

They were tasked with picking a balanced side for sub-continental conditions. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

Cricket World Cup team of the tournament (in batting order): Sachin Tendulkar (India), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, captain), Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Yuvraj Singh (India), Shane Watson (Australia), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Zaheer Khan (India), Muttiah Muralidaran (Sri Lanka). 12th man: Tim Southee (New Zealand).


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 25 May 2017 03:00:17 Processing Time: 241ms