The Rock FM won top radio station in the 2010 New Zealand Radio awards announced last night.

Newstalk ZB's Mike Hosking and Danny Watson won two of the three awards for talk radio personalities.

The third, for best sports host, went to Martin Devlin - who had spent some time in the radio boondocks and returned to Radio Live only in June last year.

He beat finalists Murray Deaker of Newstalk ZB and Nigel Yalden of Newstalk ZB/Radio Sport Waikato.

The Rock FM's Roger Farrelly, Leah Panapa, Paul Ego and Bryce Casey - The Morning Rumble - won best breakfast music show.

In his first year on the Newstalk ZB network breakfast show Mike Hosking won the Best Talk or Current Affairs Host. Afternoon host Danny Watson won the inaugural award for Best Talkback Host.

The Rock scooped the biggest win, Metropolitan Station of the Year, as well as the Best Music Breakfast Metropolitan, Best Music Non-Breakfast Metropolitan and Best Radio Website Awards.

Times FM in Rodney was the Provincial Station of the Year. The Iwi Station of the Year Award went to Ngati Hine FM of Whangarei.

This year, an Outstanding Contribution to Radio award went to Bill Francis from Newstalk ZB.

The Services to Broadcasting Award went to Kevin Black - aka Blackie - who has been an on-air breakfast host for nearly 30 years.