Has It...
Celebrity news and gossip from the man with the unpronounceable name, Myrddin Gwynedd

Blogger Bites Back: Bigelow stars in the Oscars' biggest twist

Add a comment

And it's a wrap, folks.

This biggest twist in this year's Oscars ceremony has to be Kathryn Bigelow's Best Director gong for her work on Iraq war flick The Hurt Locker. She was the fourth woman to be nominated in that category, but the first woman to scoop the award. Simply amazing.

What made it even juicier was the fact that Bigelow was competing with her ex James Cameron in the same category. Luckily, there were no handbags at dawn.

Best Actor
No real surprises here. Jeff Bridges was always a firm favourite to win in this category, and his acceptance speech is surely proof positive that the voters backed the right horse. Genuine, humbled and well deserved.

Best Actress
This was always going to be a two-person race - between first-time nominee Sandra Bullock and silver screen veteran Meryl Streep. Bullock nailed it.

Best Supporting Actor
This was really Austrian-born Christoph Waltz's award all along.

Best Supporting Actress
Comedienne Mo'Nique deserved this award for her stunning turn in harrowing Harlem tale Precious.

I think we're going to be seeing a lot more of this marvellous bag of talent...

Best Director and Best Picture
The Hurt Locker ruled in both categories. But don't be in too much of a hurry to throw a pity party for James Cameron. Avatar bagged an impressive three awards. And Cameron's always got the big screen epic's commercial success to cushion the blow.

See you all next year!

* Myrddin blogged live throughout the Academy Awards.
Click here to read his real-time comments (and yours) from throughout the day.

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 27 Apr 2017 02:40:07 Processing Time: 610ms