New Bay of Plenty Regional Council chair

Add a comment
Bay of Plenty Regional Council chairman Douglas Leeder.
Bay of Plenty Regional Council chairman Douglas Leeder.

Douglas Leeder has been selected Chair of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council Toi Moana.

Mr Leeder Chaired the Council over the past three years, and received unanimous support from all councillors at the inaugural council meeting held in Whakatane today.

After thanking his fellow councillors for their support and confidence, Mr Leeder said he was looking forward to progressing the five community outcomes.

These were water quality and quantity, environmental protection, resilience and safety, economic development and leadership for the Bay of Plenty.

Jane Nees was unanimously elected Deputy Chair, a position she also held over the past three years.

The regional councillors sworn in at todays meeting were:

Awanui Black (Mauao Maori)
Norm Bruning (Western Bay of Plenty General)
Bill Clark (Eastern Bay)
John Cronin (Tauranga General)
Stuart Crosby (Tauranga General)
Douglas Leeder (Eastern Bay)
David Love (Tauranga General)
Jane Nees (Western Bay of Plenty General)
Tīpene Marr (Kohi Maori)
Arapeta Tahana (Okurei Maori)
Paula Thompson (Tauranga General)
Lyall Thurston (Rotorua General)
Andrew von Dadelszen (Tauranga General)
Kevin Winters (Rotorua General)

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 26 May 2017 22:16:28 Processing Time: 463ms