Election results: Hauraki District

Add a comment
Hauraki District Mayor John Tregidga.
Hauraki District Mayor John Tregidga.

Hauraki District's John Tregidga said he was "absolutely thrilled" to be re-elected for a fifth term.

"You are never confident when you put your name up for election - I had a very good contender, and he ran, I believe, a very good campaign, but what I am very pleased about is that I got in with a good majority."

Preliminary votes show Tregidga won 3448 votes to his rival Conall Buchanan's 2051.

"I think that's a great endorsement of the council and it shows I've managed to lead a successful team," said Tregidga, who was celebrating with his wife over a bottle of bubbly.

He said the priorities for his next term would be getting the Hauraki Rail Trail completed and driving economic development and jobs in the region.

Tregidga has served 12 years as mayor and 33 years in local government; Hauraki District Council has the odd distinction of having had only two chief executives and two mayors since 1989.

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 29 May 2017 08:08:09 Processing Time: 430ms