New captain for BOP Steamers 2014

By Peter White

Add a comment
Bay of Plenty Steamer's Culum Retallick has been named as captain for the 2014 team. Photo/file
Bay of Plenty Steamer's Culum Retallick has been named as captain for the 2014 team. Photo/file

Steamers coaches Kevin Schuler and Rodney Gibbs have named their squad for the 2014 ITM Cup season.

The squad includes 31 players and features 19 players returning from the 2013 team, including All Blacks Sam Cane and Brodie Retallick who may play a limited role in the ITM Cup if selected in the All Blacks squad for the Investec Series. 12 new Steamers players have been selected after impressive performances in the Bayfair Baywide Club Competition.

Long serving Bay of Plenty lock Culum Retallick has been named the Steamers captain for the 2014 ITM Cup campaign.

Coach Kevin Schuler, said "The squad has a very good mix of experience and exciting young talent. We have been through a very robust selection process based on strong club form, feedback from club coaches, and performances in our trial games. We are very happy with our squad and excited about the upcoming ITM Cup."

Bay of Plenty Rugby Union's CEO Mike Rogers, said "Seven of our ten premier clubs are represented in the 2014 Steamers squad and I think this is a testament to our club competition being the most competititve it has been in a number of years. I am confident this years squad will represent our region with pride both on and off the field."

Steamers 2014 ITM Cup Squad:

Nathan Harris (Te Puke Sports); Joe Royal (Rotoiti);

Kane Hames (Tauranga Sports); Pingi Tala'apitanga (Tauranga Sports); Solomona Sakalia (Mount Maunganui); Mike Kainga (Mount Maunganui); Siegfried Fisiihoi (Whakarewarewa)

Brodie Retallick (Tauranga Sports) Culum Retallick (Tauranga Sports-Captain); Josh Sole (Mount Maunganui); Tim Bond (Te Puke Sports)

Loose Forwards
Sam Cane (Tauranga Sports); Hamish Gosling (Tauranga Sports); Johan Bardoul (Mount Maunganui); David Whitecliffe-Davies (Te Puke Sports); Joe Tupe (Greerton Marist); Carl Axtens (Tauranga Sports - Vice Captain); Jesse Acton (Rotoiti)

Samisoni Fisilau (Mount Maunganui); Jono Kitto (Te Puke Sports); Te Aihe Toma (Te Puna)

First five-eighths
Dan Hollinshead (Te Puke Sports); Paul Morris (Tauranga Sports);

Midfield backs
Teddy Stanaway (Mount Maunganui - Vice Captain); Siaosi Iongi (Rangataua); Doug Edwards (Whakarewarewa); Byron McGuigan (Tauranga Sports)

Outside backs
Tino Nemani (Greerton Marist); Kimami Sitauti; Leroy van Dam (Greerton Marist); Junior Tofa Va'a (Te Puke Sports)

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 23 May 2017 04:47:04 Processing Time: 1551ms